Outfitters Services Intranet
Sr. Comercio Amigo y Prestadores de Servicios:
Si UD. quiere publicar su oferta comuníquese con camara@tucicor.org.ar ó al 0351 - 4230446
Intranet | Information
English Version  
Print Version

The Republic of Argentina is located in the southern end of the American continent. It has a total surface of 3.7 million square kilometers, including 964,000 km2 in the Antarctic continental territory and the Southern Atlantic Islands.

The country is bordered on the North by Bolivia, on the Northeast by Paraguay, on the East by Brazil, Uruguay and the Atlantic Ocean and on the West by Chile. It has a long sea littoral, from the mouth of the River Plate up to Tierra del Fuego.

The South American continental area spreads along 3,700 km between the 22º and the 55º Southern latitude. This large area determines a very great range of weather and climatic conditions, from subtropical weather in the North to the cold temperatures of the Patagonia, with a predominance of template conditions in most areas of the country. A third part of the territory includes humid zones, out of which about 30% corresponds to the subtropical mounts and forests in the Northeast and the rest to the pampas plains, which occupy 600,000 km2.

The latter constitutes the main agricultural and industrial region in the country, which concentrates around 70% of the population, 80% of the value of the agricultural production and 85% of the industrial activities.

The other two thirds of the territory correspond to arid, semi-arid zones or areas with long periods of drought.

At present, the national territory is dwelled by 36.1 million inhabitants and is made up by 23 provinces and the Federal District, settled in the City of Buenos Aires. The official language is Spanish.

The National Constititution, in force since 1853, was last modified in 1994. The new Constitution has set forth that the Argentinian Nation has stated a Representative, Republican and Federal form of government, which is divided into three branches: executive, legislative and judicial.

The executive branch is exercised by the President and the Vice President of the Argentinian Nation for a four-year term. They are directly elected by the people and they may be re-elected for only one consecutive period. The legislative branch is made up by two chambers.

The Senate, made up by three senators for each province and three for the City of Buenos Aires. The House of Representatives is made up by representatives directly elected by the people whose number is proportional to the number of inhabitants in each district. The judicial branch is exercised by the Supreme Court of Justice and other lower courts.

Each province has its own constitution under the Republican Representative System, pursuant to the principles, statements and guarantees contained in the National Constitution.

Secretariat of Tourism
Powered by MDTec/Soluciones en Tecnología
Powered by MDTec/Soluciones en Tecnología